I originally heard about the White Chocolate Sugar Skulls in BUST Magazine and later saw it posted again on the Craft: Blog. I’d already purchased my skull mold from MexicanSugarSkull.com, and picked up my supplies at the local Wegmans.

See the references above for instructions. I’ve a few notes to add to them: Whatever you do, don’t heat the chocolate for too long. As soon as it gets creamy it’s a good time to stop. My second batch somehow appeared to become hardened again after the creamy stage. This may be due in part because I couldn’t find the melting chips and used regular chips instead. After pressing into the molds I threw the whole mold into the freezer for about 20 minutes to cool.

The icing I picked up was pretty hard to work with. I can’t imagine doing the intricate designs featured in the articles. Maybe I just need better icing. Definitely more colors.

